Everything Kosher? Kosher means “suitable” or “pure.” Kosher products are those permitted by Jewish dietary laws.
Meat products from animals which are both cloven-hoofed and ruminants, e.g. sheep, cattle, goats, also poultry, are kosher – provided that the animals have been slaughtered according to the ritual law. Fish with both scales and fins are among the kosher food. Pork and shellfish are not kosher.
Meat and dairy products must be strictly separated from each other, including separate dishes. Kosher wine and grape juice are produced under rabbinical supervision, no additives are allowed.